Home > Uncategorized > Clinging to guns and religion

Clinging to guns and religion

Let me be clear, I don’t favor taking away either the guns or religion of law-abiding citizens.  However, I would sincerely like to see everybody in the world give up both.  This is just a pathetic stunt.

“We are wanting to send a message that there are legal, civil, intelligent and law-abiding citizens who also own guns,” Pagano said in greeting the audience, which included people who do not belong to his church.


Intelligent?  Too late, they’re in church.

  1. 2009/06/27 at 10:29 pm

    Do you know anyyhing about some so called “religions” in Asia. Like the Jains in India who do not eat animals. The Buddhas also from India that did not believe in killing anything. They spread all over Asia and West as Greece for many years. For example Tibet has some of the best warriors in the world. The majority put down their weapons and became monks. Countries like Japan the majority of the people did not eat kill animals for meat for a way over 600 years.

    Yet, aside from that more humans have been killed in the name of God.

    What isthey clowned animals and only ate the clowns?

    I have a situation for you. How is it possible that a nice kid who did not like hunting or fishing or killing of any kind end up being a vicious killer. What transformation has to take place? He ended up handling his guilt by doing good.

    The answer liesin the history and develoment of an animal we call “human”.
    Good night and the best to you.

    • Gerry Generic
      2009/06/28 at 2:42 pm

      With all due respect, I don’t actually believe that people’s religions make them good. You actually allude to this in your final line about the development of the human animal. I think morality is mainly derived from our evolution as social creatures. Note that the most evil among us (serial killers, warmongers, rapists, etc.) invariably are the least socially acclimated. Religion seems to play little part in this, except as excuse for sociopathic behavior.

      I have indeed studied eastern philosophy. For a few years, I considered myself a Buddhist. The unfortunate cultural accretion of the supernatural that clings to that tradition is what ultimately drove me away. I still do not consider it a religion, however. There are aspects of the western godhead that I consider essential to my personal definition of religion. Buddhism does not meet the criteria. I know very little about the Jains but I do admire the behaviors they often exhibit, while I do disagree with aspect of their philosophy.

      I too, am a vegetarian. And I consider this to be very consistent with my atheism. If there is no supernatural and no afterlife, then taking the life of another creature is an affront to their one and only (provable) existence. I am not willing to do that. However, I would gladly eat cloned meat. Except pork, it’s just too greasy, I never liked the stuff.

      The hypothetical situation you propose confuses me. I don’t see how viciousness can be reconciled with “good”. To kill from necessity or the protection of others can be justified, but to be vicious implies enjoyment of this killing. Actually, the situation you propose sounds somewhat like the TV show Dexter. I enjoy the show, but I don’t think I could condone his actions in real life.

      But yes, far too many people are killed in the name of gods. This continues today, in ways both big and small. Wars and terrorist attacks and genocidal campaigns are only the most obvious examples. Surely the parents who refuse (implying medical care is available) to vaccinate their child or to treat them when they fall ill, all due to their religious convictions, has killed their child. The virus of irrational thinking infects many areas of life and requires constant vigilance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

